Volunteering

Volunteering
( one day a month )

Thanks to ongoing support from the Worshipful Company of Turners, we are opening up for monthly volunteering days to develop our workshop. Workshop development days are usually held on the first Thursday or Friday of each month, please check below for dates.

Come and help us to develop our workshop space and learn to sharpen tools, build chopping blocks, saw horses, shave horses and pole lathes.

Volunteering dates:

  • Friday 2nd November 2018, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 7th December 2018, 10am-3pm
  • Friday 11th January 2019, 10am-3pm
  • Friday 1st March 2019, 10am-4pm
  • Thursday 4th April, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 3rd May, 10am-4pm
  • Thursday 6th June, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 4th July, 10am-4pm
  • Thursday 1st August, 10am-4pm
  • Thursday 5th September, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 4th October, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 1st November, 10am-4pm
  • Friday 6th December, 10am-3pm

No previous experience necessary. Volunteering is open to over 18s who are physically and mentally able to participate. Unfortunately we are not able to reimburse travel or lunch expenses for those volunteering on these days. But lots of tea, coffee and biscuits will be provided.

Please let us know if you plan to attend, get in touch.

Previous volunteers have become members of the workshop, taken on tutor support roles on our one day courses, become tutors themselves and lead whittling sessions for kids at events around London.